Antalieptė monastery complex
44.antalieptesbaznyciairvienuolynas__1574114040001__w1920761178.jpg1238493328134.jpg4405950.jpg5178658230853.jpgantalieptesbaznyciosrusiukarstai_skobtiniai_1941-kristinaivanovaite933242.jpgikonogr_nr_3-kristinaivanovaite155339.jpgikonogr_nr_6-kristinaivanovaite928475.jpgikonor_nr_22-kristinaivanovaite477307.jpgikonogr_nr_17-kristinaivanovaite547507.jpgikonogr_nr_18-kristinaivanovaite728394.jpgikonogr_nr_20-kristinaivanovaite825854.jpg
44.antalieptesbaznyciairvienuolynas__1574114040001__w1920761178.jpg1238493328134.jpg4405950.jpg5178658230853.jpgantalieptesbaznyciosrusiukarstai_skobtiniai_1941-kristinaivanovaite933242.jpgikonogr_nr_3-kristinaivanovaite155339.jpgikonogr_nr_6-kristinaivanovaite928475.jpgikonor_nr_22-kristinaivanovaite477307.jpgikonogr_nr_17-kristinaivanovaite547507.jpgikonogr_nr_18-kristinaivanovaite728394.jpgikonogr_nr_20-kristinaivanovaite825854.jpg

Supposedly, barefoot carmelites in Antalieptė shown up around 1700. Patrons of Order were Strutynskiai family and Rožė family from Pliaterytė, who in 1732-1734 have funded building of new monastery and in 1760 have finished building of church of St. Cross Discovery.

New church has two belltowers, single nave, as if comprise would be extended of 3 connected parts. Under whole estimate of church there is a basement of three naves and twelve where remains on monks and founders of monastery lays. Monastery is connected with church by underground passage, excavated all the way under churchyard. According to remaining pieces of concrete wall, monastery was in the same teritorry with churchyard were encircled with tall concrete fence.

After reconstruction, monastery remained only structure of two-storey building with vaulted ceiling. Church also did not avoided changes: in 1832, after monastery‘s closing, it was reconstructed into orthodox church. Untouched by reconstruction complex was captured in painting “Ruins of Antalieptė“ by Jules Cheret. In 1893 in former dominions of barefoot carmelites was built monastery of orthodoxes. In 1906 in former monastery‘s houses started work as seminary for girls‘ teachers and as agricultural school. In 1918 monastery was returned to catholics and it started to work as elementary school.  In 1924 Holy Heart of Jesus Congregation for women moved into former Antalieptė monastery. The nuns opened agricultural school, elementary school and high school, kindergarten, school of crafts and novitiate for monks.
Recently, as being adapted for tourism, there are possibilities to get accommodation services in
monastery, take a part in educational activity, get familiar with rich heritage of monastery and whole Antalieptė.

Contacts:

Address: A. Žilėno st. 2, Antalieptė
GPS: 55.659458, 25.868059
Phone No. +370 604 83856
Other information:

With children, District, Antalieptė parish, more than 50 meters
© 2014-2020 VisitZarasai. All rights reserved
solution webmod: Web pages creation